Due to an algorithmic error, Facebook mistakenly "memorialized" vital user accounts with a banner announcing the user’s passing – turning their friend walls into memorial walls.
Society of Simulations

When FB Told Everyone They Were Dead

Facebook killed all its users off, it sounds like an episode of Black Mirror. Last week the company mistakenly “memorialized” every account with a banner to remember and celebrate those who’ve passed away, turning their walls into memorial walls. Even Mark Zuckerberg died.

Facebook is telling everyone that they’re dead

The glitch occurred on Friday afternoon, after Facebook’s algorithms announced the death of thousands of users. A spokesperson reacted to the event afterwards, telling that everyone was brought back to life. “For a brief period today, a message meant for memorialized profiles was mistakenly posted to other accounts. This was a terrible error that we have now fixed. We are very sorry that this happened and we worked as quickly as possible to fix it”.

The social network introduced the memorial feature in 2015 to allow family members to access their deceased loved ones’ accounts. Since then, users can choose to either have their accounts turned into a memorial page after their death, or simply being deleted. This makes us wonder, what does it actually mean to die online?

Source: The Verge. Image: Yahoo

Welcome back!

We have noticed you are a frequent visitor to our website. Do you think we are doing a good job? Support us by becoming a member.

Join